State Stars

These groups of FFA members have excelled in their Supervised Agricultural Experiences (SAEs) by living the FFA motto: “Learning to do, doing to learn, earning to live, living to serve.” The district and state stars exemplify the hard work that our organization was founded upon.

State Star Categories & Criteria

Students applying for State Star recognition must have first been selected as their district star. Applications are completed along with a member's State Degree application.

  • Washington Star Farmer

    • The FFA member with the top production agriculture SAE program each year is recognized as the Washington Star Farmer. Four state finalists vie for the star award. Considered the highest recognition in the state for an aspiring young farmer, the award recognizes achievement in both career and leadership development.

  • Washington Star in Placement

    • One member with the best placement SAE program and proven leadership skills is selected to be the State Star in Agricultural Placement. The member’s placement experience can include paid labor hours or directed laboratory unpaid labor hours.

  • Washington Star in Agribusiness

    • Each year one member with the best non-production entrepreneurial agribusiness SAE and proven leadership skills is selected to be the Washington FFA Star in Agribusiness. Four state finalists compete for this prestigious award, the highest achievement for a person pursuing a career in agribusiness.

  • Washington Star in Agriscience

    • The Washington Star in Agriscience winner will have an SAE program in which the student is actively engaged in agriscience research and experimentation. This includes students who are actively engaged in doing their own research individually, as well as those students who may be cooperating on research projects with others including but not limited to teams in school, experiment stations or colleges/universities. The hypothesis may be formulated by the student or provided to them by a co-researcher. The students must be actively involved in the development of the experimental design, collection of data, interpretation of the data and publicizing the results to be considered as a State Star in Agriscience. Their program could be an entrepreneurship or placement type program. The placement type program does not have to be paid hours, but the member must have met the minimum requirements for the State FFA Degree.

2019 Washington FFA State Stars

2019 Washington Stars.png

State Star Farmer

Caden Bybee, Prosser

State Star Agriscience

Adeline Rang, Sumner

State Star in Agribusiness

Cotton Booker, Colfax

State Star in Placement

Adam Smaciarz, Willapa Valley